History of Christ Church
Christ Church is a pioneering Anglican church in North Adelaide. Opened and consecrated in 1849, Christ Church solely uses the liturgy from the Book of Common Prayer. The church is a stunning example of Romanesque architecture. Until St Peter’s Cathedral was opened in 1877, Christ Church was used as the pro-cathedral.
By the early 1840s, residents of North Adelaide were anxious to have a church built in their district. Fundraising began and by the time of the arrival of Augustus Short, first Bishop of Adelaide, from England in December 1847, £1100 had been raised. Bishop Short added £100 to this amount. The Foundation Stone was laid in 1848 by the Bishop.
Architects Henry Stuckey and William Weir oversaw construction. It is debated which architect is responsible for the church and which for the Rectory. Goodhugh’s South Australian Illustrated and Commercial Almanack of 1852 credits Weir for the church and Stuckey for the Rectory (and Bishop’s Court, the residence of the Archbishop of Adelaide situated on the north side of Christ Church). However, the 2ndJanuary 1855 issue of the South Australian Register, it notes the interior fittings were decorated in accordance with the architect, Mr H. Stuckey.
Christ Church was built using limestone sourced from local government quarries on the banks of the River Torrens.